Gym Work

A1. Back squat clusters 1.1.1.1.1×5; rest 10 sec/rest 2 min (90%1rm)
A2. Weighed chin up clusters 1.1.1.1.1×5; rest 10 sec/rest 2 min (90%
is of {90% of 1rm chin up+BWT})
B. Side laying elbow on side external rotations @40×0, 12-15×3/arm;
rest 1 min bw arms

(285 1RM) – all sets done at 255#, these once again felt good.  I am amazed at how good these feel after yesterday.  I guess the learning here is that if aerobic work is truly done at a low enough percentage (ie: below 75%), strength is hardly effected.  At least for me personally anyway.

Chinups were a complete disaster.  I had nothing.  I just could not pull.
1st set, 110 (90%) – fail, 100, – fail, 85×2, terminated set
All remaining sets done at 75# and barely.  Only 4 reps on last set.

Should we change up something for chins?  Maybe the 1 arm negatives are just destroying me and I need longer recovery?  I’m not sore from them or anything.

+10lbs x12 reps all sets (failure on 12 of last set)

Overall good today considering.  Aerobic system very taxed, tougher recovery between sets, higher breathing rate than normal.

Sleep  7
Refreshed?  yes
length  9 – but woke quite a few times
Stress  3
Desire to Train  7-8
Food quality  8
Supps  yes, no Vit D for a couple days, got TONS yesterday
Play  no, lots of work
Climbing improvement  na
balance/rest  planned, work
Coffee intake  a bunch
Stretching/Recovery  none yet

Leave a comment