Climbing – training

1.5 hours.

20 min traverse warmup.
+
4×4 boulder problems.  Up and down 4 times with as little rest between the route as possible.  Rest as needed between sets.
+
Work to climb as many routes in allotted time to earn “points.”  Point earned according to the grade climbed/completed.  I had to leave early so only did about 20 min/8 points.

Overall felt great today.  Best I’ve felt climbing in 2 weeks.  Had good strength AND endurance today.  My mental game was on today and I felt like I was climbing better than I have been in a while.  Haven’t projected any routes in a while, so we’ll see how my bouldering has improved on a fresh day.

I’m slowly adjusting to the increased workload this week.  5 hours of coaching added to my schedule this week.

Interesting note on food.  I ate some gluten last night (don’t know why, I didn’t even want it), and my stomach was a bit upset (it normally isn’t).  But I woke up feeling great and performed very well today.  I’ve seen this happen in the past, but I’m not totally sure why.  It could be the carb load?  But I haven’t been eating low carb at all.  Tons of sweet potatoes/fruit/lara bars/dark choc.  It could also be part of Wed workout.  That day feels hard while I’m doing it, but I always feel more recovered/fresh the following day.

+

PM Climbing with Alan at SBP.  Watched an awesome slide show presentation from Colin Haley.  Then bouldered for 90 more minutes.  Hands are RAW, but felt pretty good actually.  Slightly fatigued from this morning.

Sleep  9
Refreshed?  yes
length  8-9
Stress  3
Desire to Train  9
Food quality  9
Supps  yes
Play  climbing
Climbing improvement  good
balance/rest  no rest, all work and play today
Coffee intake  a large cup french press
Stretching/Recovery  none